Any individual on your account with Admin privileges are able to manage and delete staff members on the website and mobile app. Once a staff member has been removed from a center they will no longer have access to any school or student information. It's also important to note that removing a staff member will also remove the Staff Messaging history and the message thread(s) will be unrecoverable.

Table of Contents

Remove Staff Members

On the Web:

  1. Go to the Staff List on the web

  2. Locate the staff member you wish to delete

  3. Click Options on that staff member's row

  4. Select Delete

From the Mobile App:

  1. From the Administrator Home screen, click on Staff

  2. Click the staff member's profile you wish to delete

  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Delete button

  4. Click Delete again in the pop-up screen to complete the action

Export Employee Records

It's important to note that when a staff member is removed from brightwheel, their check-in/out records will no longer be reportable in the Timecards and Payroll reports. Be sure to export these records PRIOR to removing these staff members to ensure you are able to access these historical records at a later date.

And as stated at the beginning of this article, removing a staff member will also remove the Staff Messaging history and the message thread(s) will be unrecoverable.

Shared Login Information

We do not recommend having your staff members use shared login information. Room Device Mode is a feature we recently built to avoid having staff members share logins.  

If your staff members already share login information, please make sure that all passwords are changed when terminating a staff member. Please also contact our Support team so we can do a forced logout on all devices. 

Temp or On-Call Staff Members

In cases where a staff member or teacher is not regularly working such as a substitute or on-call teacher, administrators can still create staff accounts for these employees. When this employee is called in, simply update their room assignment to reflect where they are working that day. When they are no longer needed in that room, you can remove all room assignments for that user. This allows you to maintain check-in records for that employee but does not give them access to school records when they are not actively working for you.

Did this answer your question?