Administrators can upload key Room and program documents for easy access by Contacts with parent level permissions and Staff using the Document Hub. This feature enables you to share important information such as handbooks, menus, or event flyers with given Rooms or the whole program. As families join your program and move Rooms, they’ll be able to access this pertinent information automatically through the brightwheel mobile app. This means as an Administrator you will no longer have to worry about making sure the right documents are being shared.

Table of Contents

Adding and Sharing a New Document

With the document hub feature, Administrators can upload key documents such as menus, flyers, and handbooks to be shared with Rooms or the entire program including staff. Once these documents have been shared with a room you no longer need to manually share these again with new families or staff.

To add a new document to the document hub:

  1. Log in to brightwheel and open the Documents tab

  2. Click the + Add New button in the top left corner

  3. Either drop a PDF file into the box or select the browse button to add a PDF file from your library

  4. Add a Name for the document

  5. Select a Document Type using the drop down menu

  6. Click Add

  7. Select a Share to option or press skip for now

The document will now appear in the document hub.

Managing Documents

Administrators can share documents while adding them to the document hub, however there may be situations in which they would prefer to add the document now and share it later or they may wish to share it with an additional room. Additionally, a document may no longer be relevant for the program or room. This can all easily be managed through the document hub.

If you wish to share the document with an additional room or the entire program:

  1. Log in to brightwheel and open the Documents tab

  2. Locate the document that needs to be shared

  3. Click the Actions drop down menu on the right side of the screen

  4. Select Sharing

  5. Use the Share to drop down menu to select if the document needs to be shared with the entire program or individual rooms

  6. If sharing with rooms, click the X next to any room that no longer needs access to the document

  7. Use the Share with drop down menu to add additional rooms to share the document with

  8. Select Update Sharing

If you wish to delete the document:

  1. Log in to brightwheel and open the Documents tab

  2. Locate the document that needs to be deleted

  3. Click the Actions drop down menu on the right side of the screen

  4. Select Delete

  5. Press Yes

This will remove the document from the hub meaning parents and staff will no longer have access to it.

Parent and Staff Access

When a document has been shared with a room that a contact with parent level access has a student assigned to, they will receive a message with the document attached. Parent level access contacts will have a document tab for each student profile that they are listed as a parent level contact for. They can access these documents on the web and on the app.

Staff can view documents shared to any room that they are assigned to from their account on the web. They will have a document tab, similar to the administrator, listing all documents that they have access to.

Please note: documents shared here are viewable by all staff assigned to the room and all contacts with parent level permissions of any student with an active enrollment status assigned to that room. At this time if you wish to share a document with an individual student we'd recommend sending it via a message attachment.

Did this answer your question?