Brightwheel offers many different student statuses to ensure that all student and school data is maintained. Many programs need to retain access to records for billing, taxes, licensing, and other reporting purposes, and brightwheel understands how important it is to always have reliable access to data. With this in mind, deleting or erasing a student profile is not an option. Instead, administrators can use student enrollment statuses to organize and filter out archived students.

Table of Contents

Set & Adjust Enrollment Status

Student's enrollment statuses can be set on their profile on the web portal or the mobile app. This can also be done in bulk on the web if several students' statuses need to be updated at once. This is particularly helpful at the beginning and end of each school year, calendar year, or seasonal program schedule.

The Active status is recommended for students who are regularly attending a program. There are a few options for students who will no longer be attending the program: Graduated, Inactive, Removed, and Duplicate. For students who may be attending in the future but aren’t attending regularly yet, status options include Prospect, Toured, Applied, Waitlist, and Enrolled. There is no functional difference between these statuses other than for filtering, so administrators can choose to use whichever statuses are the best fit for their program.

Filter by Enrollment Status

Throughout the brightwheel web and mobile apps, filters are applied by default so that only students with Active or no enrollment statuses are being displayed. This prevents cluttering of classrooms and avoids confusion. These filters can be adjusted on the mobile app through Room Settings, and on the web as needed.

Archive Student Profiles

To archive students and preserve their data, administrators can simply change their enrollment status to Inactive, Graduated, Removed, or Duplicate. This will filter out past students from actively enrolled students by default on any screen while allowing programs to maintain necessary records.

Keep in mind that archiving students won’t automatically remove contacts or impact whether contacts can access or view the profile.

Archiving students allows administrators to retain access to brightwheel data, while also filtering their default view to include only active students. We recommend archiving students from the web platform for a smoother and more thorough experience. Administrators can take the following steps to archive a student’s profile:

1. From the Students tab, select the desired student's profile

2. Click Edit in the School Details panel

3. Choose Inactive or any other enrollment status as needed from the list

4. Tap Save

5. If the student has an active billing plan, a window will appear offering the option to delete the billing plan

6. Use the X to remove all assigned rooms from the Rooms panel

7. Optionally, use the Edit > Remove buttons to remove contacts

Manage Archived Profiles

When archiving students, brightwheel also recommends removing them from any assigned rooms.

Archiving a profile won’t impact whether parents and other added contacts are able to view the profile. If parents remain added to the student’s contact list, they’ll continue to have access to historical messages, activities, attendance data, and billing records even if the profile is archived. If contacts should not have access to this profile, administrators can choose to remove them as contacts from the student's profile. Contacts that are removed will no longer have access to any information, data, or records related to the profile.

If needed, administrators can restore archived profiles at any time by searching for the student’s name and adjusting their status back to Active.

Did this answer your question?