The room feed is a great way to see the overall activity history of that specific room. The feed is comprised of all of the activities for each student assigned to that room starting at the time they were added to the room. Activities posted to the student's feed before they were assigned to a specific room will not display in the room feed. 

Table of Contents


Understanding Staff Only Posts

Brightwheel allows schools to enable staff-only posts so that activities being posted to a student's feed can be approved by a school administrator before being shared with student contacts.

What it means: Only internal personnel can view the post, posts are not sent to parents and, posts will not appear when parents are viewing their student's Feed

Why it's useful: Great for assessments, observations, and private communication amongst staff members about student learning and behaviors. Additionally, it gives admins control over what student contacts see.

Admin Approval feature: Great way to enable admin approval of posts for programs that desire this functionality. When a post is marked as Staff Only, the admin can simply later remove this designation to publish items to a student's feed.

Additional callouts about this feature:

  • If a post was marked as staff-only and then updated to be visible to student contacts, student contacts will not receive a notification for the activity but it will be visible on the student's Feed

  • Once enabled, all newly logged activities will default to 'staff only'. However, this setting does not limit staff's ability to uncheck the 'staff only' box when they're logging individual activities. We suggest advising your staff accordingly if/when this box should be unchecked


Review and Approve Staff Only Posts

  1. Log into the brightwheel web app and click on Rooms from the top menu

  2. Select the desired room from the Room List tab and choose the Feed tab

  3. Slide the toggle switch from All to Staff Only

  4. Check the box next to all the posts you would like to approve or click Select All

  5. Click the Approve button to have these activities display on the student feed

Then these approved activities will be available for parents to see.


Watch the Admin approval tutorial video here:


Edit or Delete an Activity

You can edit or delete actions or activities that have been posted to a student's feed from the web or mobile app. Learning Observations are the only activity that requires editing specifically on the mobile app. At this time, edit options are limited to the date, staff-only checkbox, and any notes. Please see the steps in the Log Activities and Actions help center article for specifics on how to perform these processes.


Changing Room Assignments

The room feed is comprised of all the activities for each student from the time that they were assigned to that room. 

  • Added to a New Room: If a new room is created or a student is added to a different room, the student's historical activities will not be displayed in the new room's feed. Only new activities will be added to the room feed. 

  • Removed From Room: When a student is removed from a room, none of their historical activities that were previously associated with that room will display in the room feed. 

  • Renaming a Room: Renaming a room will keep the room feed entirely intact. There will be not impact on the feed. 

Did this answer your question?