Brightwheel understands the importance of communicating with staff effectively. The messaging feature on the web and within the app acts as a centralized communication hub for staff and administrators. This helps to reduce the number of platforms used for communication and enables staff and administrators to easily share updates or coordinate with classroom staff instantly. This feature provides convenient one-on-one communication between administrators and staff, but also group staff messages where administrators can send group messages based on staff room assignments.
It's important to note that removing a staff member will also remove the Staff Messaging history, and the previous thread will be unrecoverable.
Table of Contents
Administrator to Staff Messaging
Messaging between administrators and staff is very similar to messaging with parents. In this case, administrators can message any staff member within brightwheel. Any staff member can message any administrator but are not able to message other staff members within brightwheel. This provides a secure and convenient way of keeping up to date with staff in a single centralized location.
Administrator to Staff Messaging on Mobile
Administrator to Staff Messaging on the Web
Group Staff Messages
Often, administrators need to communicate with all of the staff in a particular classroom. Brightwheel’s messaging functionality empowers administrators to communicate quickly and easily using the group messaging option. Once the thread has been started, any staff member or other administrators can navigate to the conversation to read and reply at any time. Messaging an entire classroom will notify all staff members assigned to that classroom.
Group Staff Messaging on Mobile
Group Staff Messaging on the Web
Viewing Staff Messages
Admins and Managers can view staff messages on the web or app. However, it's important to note that specific Admins or Managers will not be able to view individual Admin <> Staff threads unless they are a part of that thread.
Viewing on Mobile
Viewing on the Web
Staff Messaging & Replies
Staff members without administrator privileges have the ability to respond in group and individual threads. They are also able to start new conversations with other administrators within the brightwheel account. Staff members, however, cannot directly message other non-admin staff members in brightwheel.
Staff Messaging on Mobile
Staff Messaging on the Web
Delete Messages as an Admin
Only staff with an Admin role can delete messages. Admins can delete messages they have sent themselves, other admins have sent, or other staff members have sent by doing so on the web.
Navigate to the Messaging page on the web
Jump to the Staff tab
Use the Staff or Room Name filter as needed
Choose the message thread
Please note: Messages can only be deleted in one thread at a time. If you need to delete a staff-wide announcement, you'll need to delete thread by thread.
Click Edit in the upper left corner of the message window
Click the box next to the message(s) to delete
Click Delete message
In the pop-up window, select Yes, delete to confirm the deletion
Once deleted, the message thread will reload and display "[Admin Name] deleted this message" and that notice will be visible to anyone in the thread.
Please keep in mind that the action of deleting a message(s) is permanent, and the message cannot be recovered. If you use this option, ensure you've selected the correct message(s) to delete.