In order to get started on brightwheel, rooms will need to be added. Rooms can be organized in many ways. They can be named after physical classrooms, one giant room, rooms by age group, or whatever name is needed! Rooms can be created from both the web and mobile app. After a room is added, student and staff profiles can be created, then assigned to their respective rooms.

Table of Contents

Add a Room

Rooms are the best way to organize students, staff, learning curriculum, and filter reports and billing. Maintaining rooms in brightwheel is vital. Creating rooms can be done on the web or through the app. Only users with administrator or manager permissions can manage rooms.

On The Web

To add a room from the web, admins/managers can follow these steps:

  1. Select Rooms on the top left tab.

  2. Click the button: Add Room 

  3. Type in the name of the room and click Create Room

On The Mobile App

From the app, rooms can be created and managed from the school profile at any time.

  1. From the Administrator Home screen tap School Profile

  2. Tap the Rooms card at the top

  3. Tap the + button in the top right of the screen

  4. Enter the name of the new room and navigate back when complete

Modify or Remove a Room

Editing the name of a room or deleting it is done in very similar ways. The user must have administrator or manager level permissions to modify any rooms and this can be done from the app or on the web.

Before a room can be deleted in brightwheel, all students will first need to be removed from that room. This article shows how to change a student's room assignment.


On The Web

  1. Click on the Rooms tab in the web portal.

  2. Click the room to delete

  3. Click Room Settings in the upper right

  4. Update the name as desired and click Update Room or click Delete this Room (confirm by entering the room name exactly)

On The Mobile App

  1. From the Administrator Home screen tap School Profile

  2. Tap the Rooms card at the top

  3. Enter the new room name(s) and navigate back or tap the X to delete

Note: If a room is deleted, student records from that room will still be accessible via the student's profile. Reports will also no longer be filterable by the deleted room.

Homeroom

Adding a Homeroom is a great way to check a student in using Quick Scan and the check-in Kiosk. The Homeroom is where a student will be checked into while using Quick Scan.

For example, assigning "Room C" as a homeroom will ensure that the student is checked into this room rather than "Room A".

To add a Homeroom from the web:

  1. Go to the student's profile

  2. Click Edit beside the Homeroom section

  3. Assign the desired homeroom

  4. Click Save

The homeroom will then be successfully added for this student. This can also be done in bulk; please view this article for more information.

Did this answer your question?