Skip to main content

Manage program rates

[For Admins + Billing Only Role] Learn how to add more, edit, organize & delete program rates, or make adjustments for a new school year.

Written by Audrey

Once your program standard rates are added in brightwheel, your Library is where your program's standard rates live, things like tuition, late pickup fees, or supply charges. Once they're set up, you can add new ones, organize them into categories, edit amounts, or remove ones that no longer apply.

Note: Your charge Library and your billing plans are separate. Adding, editing, or uploading rates in your Library will not update existing plans, templates, or posted invoices. You will always need to update those separately.


Update rates for a new school year

We recommend using our bulk update tool to apply a percentage or dollar amount increase or adjustment across existing student plans or templates in one step. For steps, see Update program billing rates in bulk.

Please note this will not update fixed charges in your Charge Library, but that's by design. We encourage providers to use bill plan templates as a faster, more efficient way to bill in bulk.


Add a rate to your charge Library

If you've already added rates, you can easily add additional ones to your charge Library. Keep in mind you will still need to update existing plans and templates separately to reflect the new rates you add or change. You can manually make changes to plans or use our bulk rate update tool.

Individual rates

  1. Log in on the web

  2. Click Billing in the sidebar menu > Library tab

  3. Select Fixed Charges or Variable Charges

  4. Hit Create new charges in the top right. If adding fixed rates, you can upload multiple rates at once by selecting Bulk upload rates

Multiple rates in bulk

You can also upload a new rate sheet if you have a large number of new rates to add and a PDF/photo/digital file copy with all your rates listed.

Go to Billing > Select an action > Bulk upload rates.

💡 Tip: Uploading new rates in bulk does not replace existing ones. This means you have a few options to deal with the old rates in your Charge Library:

  • Delete the old rates from your Library

  • Title the outdated rates to "Previous rates" if you wish to keep the record of them in your Library. This new title won't reflect in the existing bill plans or templates.


Organize rates into categories

Charge categories group similar rates together in your Library and make it easier to filter reports. For example, you can see the total collected for a Tuition category across your program.

  1. Log in on the web > Select Billing in the sidebar menu

  2. Choose the Library tab > Categories

  3. Click Create a new category

  4. Select the rate to assign it to a category

Note: Once created, a charge category can not be edited or deleted.


Edit a rate

Editing a rate in your Library only applies to future use. Already-posted or pending invoices are not affected, and existing billing plans and templates will continue to use the old amount.

  1. Log in on the web > Select Billing in the sidebar menu

  2. Choose the Library tab > Categories

  3. Click the pencil icon next to the charge that needs editing

  4. Hit Save to library when finished

Note: If you edit a rate in your Charge Library and want it to apply to current bill plan templates (not plans assigned to students), you can manually update existing plan templates by removing the old charge from the template and re-adding it to reflect the updated amount.

Or, if you can use our bulk rates update tool to update rates to match what's in your Charge Library and update rates in plans assigned to students. For steps, visit Update program billing rates in bulk.


Delete a rate

Once a charge is removed from your Billing Library, changes do not apply retroactively to already posted or pending invoices and will not be removed from any previously created billing with that charge.

  1. Log in on the web

  2. Select Billing in the sidebar menu

  3. Choose the Library tab > Categories

  4. Click the Trashcan icon next to the charge that needs deleting

Did this answer your question?